EU Persons | EUNewsletter
European Ombudsman Emily O’Reilly

Emily O’Reilly is а former journalist and broadcaster who became Ireland’s first female Ombudsman in 2003 and in 2007 she was also appointed Commissioner for Environmental Information and Freedom of Information Commissioner. Ms O’Reilly is a graduate of University College Dublin with a Degree in European Languages and Literature (1979) and holds a Graduate Diploma in Education from Trinity College Dublin (1980). She was conferred with an Honorary Doctorate in Laws by the National University in Ireland in 2008 for her work in promoting human rights throughout her career as a journalist and through her work as Ombudsman. In 2014 she was conferred a second time with an Honorary Doctorate of Law from University College Dublin in Ireland.
In the course of her journalistic career, she won two awards: Journalist of the Year and Woman Journalist of the Year.

Commissioner for Enlargement and European Neighbourhood Policy Johannes Hahn

Johannes Hahn  is an Austrian politician. Since November 2014 he has been the Commissioner for European Neighbourhood Policy & Enlargement Negotiations. 

Johannes Hahn is a graduate of the University of Vienna, graduating with a doctorate in philosophy in 1987.  Dr. Hahn is a member of the Österreichische Volkspartei (ÖVP) and the European People’s Party (EPP). 


President of the European Parliament Martin Schulz

Martin Schulz was elected President of the European Parliament on 17 January 2012 for a mandate of two and half years with 387 votes.
He started out his political career at the age of 19 joining the Social Democratic Party of Germany. Aged 31, he was elected as the youngest mayor of North Rhine-Westphalia, a post he held for 11 years.
Since 1994, Martin Schulz is a Member of the European Parliament and has served in a number of committees, first serving on the sub-committee on Human Rights and then on the Committee on Civil Liberties and Home Affairs. He led the SPD MEPs from 2000 and was subsequently elected Vice-Chair of the Socialist MEPs.
In 2004 he was elected group leader of the second largest group in the European Parliament. As leader of the Socialists and Democrats in the European Parliament, Martin Schulz campaigned for social justice, promoting jobs and growth, reforming financial markets, fighting climate change, championing equality and creating a stronger and more democratic Europe.

High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy/Vice-President of the European Commission Federica Mogherini

Federica Mogherini was Minister for Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation since February 2014.

She was elected to the Chamber of Deputies in 2008 and re-elected in 2013. She was a member, and Secretary of the Committee on Defence and member of the Italian delegation to the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe and of the Committee on Foreign Affairs.

On 1 August 2013 she was elected Chair of the Italian Delegation to the Parliamentary Assembly of NATO. She also coordinated the Inter-Parliamentary Group for Development Cooperation.
She is a member of the Institute for Foreign Affairs (IAI), the Council for the United States and Italy and a fellow of the German Marshall Fund of the United States.
Born in Rome in 1973, she is married and has two daughters. She has a degree in Political Science.

President of the European Council Donald Tusk

Donald Tusk has been Prime Minister of Poland since 16 November 2007. Born on 22 April 1957 in Gdańsk. He is a graduate in history from the Faculty of Humanities of the University of Gdańsk, where he was also one of the creators of the Students Solidarity Committee. He cooperated with Free Trade Unions of the Coast area and was a co-founder of the Independent Students’ Association in Gdańsk, as well as head of “Solidarity” at the Wydawnictwo Morskie publishing house and a journalist of the “Samorządność” weekly, published by the trade union. For seven years, he earned his living as a worker in the “Świetlik” co-operative. In the elections of 1997, he became a Senator running on behalf of the Freedom Union (UW), and served as Deputy Marshal (Speaker) of the Upper House. He was also a Deputy Marshal of the Sejm in the years 2001-2005 and Member of the Lower House in its 1st, 4th, 5th, 6th and 7th term.

Since April 2003, he has been the chairman of the Civic Platform party.

President of the European Commission Jean-Paul Juncker

Jean-Claude Juncker served as Prime Minister of Luxembourg (1995 until 2013). From 2005 until 2013, he was also President of the Eurogroup – the Ministers of Finance from the Eurozone – and was instrumental in leading Europe safely out of the financial crisis.

Juncker was born in 1954. He joined the Christian Social People’s Party in Luxembourg in 1974 and went on to study law at the University of Strasbourg. He was first appointed as Deputy Minister of Labour at the age of 28 in 1982. He was appointed as Minister of Labour in 1984 and as Minister of Finance in 1989, a position that allowed him to chair the meetings of ministers of finances of the then European Economic Community. In 1992 he played a key role in the run-up to the signing of the Maastricht Treaty which created the European Union.

Head of the EU Delegation to Armenia Piotr Switalski

Piotr Switalski is a career diplomat holding the rank of titular ambassador. From 1 September 2015 he is the Head of the EU Delegation to Armenia. In 2015 Switalski worked as a Director in Department for Asia and the Pacific, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Poland. He was a Director for Policy Planning at the Council of Europe (2010-2014). In his diplomatic career, he served as Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Poland to the Council of Europe (2005-2010), Deputy Foreign Minister of Poland (2005), Director of the Department of Strategy and Foreign Policy Planning of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Poland (2002-2005). He was Senior Diplomatic Adviser to the OSCE Secretary General (1993-1996) and posted as Deputy Chief of Mission to the OSCE in Vienna (1990-1993) and the UN Office in Nairobi (1999-2002). Mr. Switalski holds a PhD in International Relations from the Moscow State Institute of International Relations, while he studied at the Warsaw University.